Never Such Innocence

NEVER SUCH INNOCENCE is a programme of poems, readings and music from the First World War, first performed at St Mary’s Perivale on November 3rd 2016 as part of the Somme 100 commemoration.

Actor Christopher Kent and pianist Gamal Khamis look back at the writing and music that emerged from the period, juxtaposing the words of writers like Wilfred Owen, Edward Thomas, Siegfried Sassoon and Vera Brittain with piano music by composers such as Elgar, Ravel, Debussy, Frank Bridge and Ivor Gurney.

In a moving and thought-provoking sequence, they trace a narrative from the early innocence and nostalgia of pre-war life, through initial patriotic optimism, to the growing realisation of what was happening at the front and the deep sadness and loss that followed across Europe. As well as poetry the programme will include extracts from letters, diaries and contemporary accounts, plus material drawn from personal family history.

NEVER SUCH INNOCENCE is available for booking for concert societies, festivals, schools and theatres. Please contact innocence@ckuk.com or +44 7850 595089 to enquire about availability.

FORTHCOMING PERFORMANCES:

2017

Thursday 18th October, 1.15pm – Christ’s School, Richmond

Thursday 9th November 4.30pm & 7pm – Kingswood School, Bath

Friday 10th November, 7.30pm – Clapham Chamber Concerts, St Paul’s Church, London, SW4 0DX

2018

Saturday 17th March, 7.30pm. – All Saints Church, Isleworth, TW7 6BE

Sunday 18th March, 7.30pm – Jermyn Street Theatre, London SOLD OUT

Sunday 27th May, 2.15pm – English Music Festival, Silk Hall, Radley College, Oxfordshire, OX14 2HR

Tuesday 3rd July, 7.30pm – Festival of Chichester, Oxmarket Centre of Arts, Chichester

Friday 13th July, 7.30pm – JAM on the Marsh Festival, St Dunstans Church, Romney Marsh

Saturday 8th September, 7.30pm – St Chad’s, Shrewsbury (in aid of Medic Malawi). Book tickets

Wednesday 12th September, 7.15pm – Freemasons Hall, Great Queen Street, London, WC2B 5AZ SOLD OUT

Thursday 13th September, 7pm – Freemasons Hall, Great Queen Street, London, WC2B 5AZ Book tickets

Friday 21st September, 7pm – Village Hall, Sutton Veny, Wiltshire BA12 7AP Book tickets LAST FEW REMAINING

Sunday 30th September, 4.15pm – Sandham Memorial Chapel, Burghclere, Hampshire, RG20 9JT

Saturday 20th October, 7.30pm – Canterbury Festival, Sarah Thorne Theatre, Broadstairs

Saturday 3rd November, 7.30pm – Bath Recitals, St Michael’s Church, Bath

Monday 5th November, 7.30pm – Royal Overseas League, Park Place, St James’s Street, London, SW1A 1LR

Wednesday 7th November 7.30pm – Royal British Legion, Neston, Cheshire, CH64 9PB

Friday 9th November, 7.30pm – Jubilee Hall, Aldeburgh, IP15 5BN

Saturday 10th November, 7.00pm – Southside House, Wimbledon, London, SW19 4RJ

Sunday 11th November, 7.30pm – St Mary’s, Perivale, London, UB6 8SS

Sunday 18th November, 7.30pm – Jermyn Street Theatre, London, SW1Y 6ST

Sunday 25th November, 7.30pm – New London Synagogue, London, NW8 0AT

Friday 30th November, 7.30pm – HEART Arts Centre, Bennett Road, Leeds, LS6 3HN

Saturday 1st December, 8pm – OSO Arts Centre, Barnes Green, London, SW13 0LF

“A very special, moving and immensely absorbing production”

“The most amazing evening… one of the most moving and thought-provoking events I have ever attended.”

“Beautifully nuanced show – tender, moving, angry”

“A spell-binding evening. So compelling to watch and listen to”

“The choice of poetry and music was perfect and the narrative and underlying story very moving…I don’t think there was a dry eye in the house.”

“Thank you for the power and pathos of your performances…. I don’t think I have spent a more emotionally charged ninety minutes.”